This site uses cookies to store information on your computer Please review our cookie policy


Student Login

Digital Compentency

Digital competence is one of 3 cross-curricular responsibilities, alongside literacy and numeracy. It focuses on developing digital skills which can be applied to a wide range of subjects and scenarios.

The Framework, which has been developed by practitioners from Pioneer Schools, supported by external experts, has 4 strands of equal importance, each with a number of elements.

Citizenship – which includes:

    • Identity, image and reputation
    • Health and well-being
    • Digital rights, licensing and ownership
    • Online behaviour and Cyberbullying.

Interacting and collaborating – which includes:

    • Communication
    • Collaboration
    • Storing and sharing.

Producing – which includes:

    • Planning, sourcing and searching
    • Creating
    • Evaluating and improving.

Data and computational thinking – which includes:

    • Problem solving and modelling
    • Data and information literacy


SWGFL has produced schemes of work based on Common Sense Media’s FREE Digital Literacy and Citizenship Curriculum, which empowers learners to think critically, behave safely, and participate responsibly in our digital world.

Ysgol Maes Hyfryd have been working within the DCF framework and produced their own schemes of work at Key Stage 3 and 4. All pupils in school have DCF targets on their Individual Education Plan. 

Please download the long term plans which cover ICT Skills and Digitial Competency. 


Files to Download

Other pages

Skills Button


Wellbeing Button


Attitude Button


Knowledge Button


Home Icon

Ysgol Maes Hyfryd Specialist High School, Fifth Avenue, Flint, Flintshire CH6 5QL

Tel: 01352 792720 / 01352 792727 | Email: [email protected]